Quiet Your Mind–Make Time for Creativity

I have read that a good way to tap your creativity is to sit quietly and let your mind wander.  Doing that isn’t difficult, but allowing yourself to do it is not easy.   While sitting in my living room, in the quiet early morning, I gave it a try.  Much to my surprise, a good first paragraph, for a story that I have been struggling with, popped into my head; as did this as a topic for my blog today.

Often I find that my creativity flows more smoothly when I am writing longhand in a notebook.  Once I get started then I can move to my computer and my creative flow continues.   Perhaps there are too many distractions sitting at the computer screen.

When do you find yourself the most creative?   What techniques work best for you?

2 Comments

Filed under Thoughts on Writing...

2 responses to “Quiet Your Mind–Make Time for Creativity

  1. writingturtle
    It is interesting how different writers approach writing and stimulate their creativity. Flash fiction is certainly another way to stimulate and motivate.

  2. writingturtle

    Hmm… that’s really interesting. I tend to see that my creativity is most effective when I’m typing, not actually handwriting. I’m not sure why, but it does. Another thing I do is write flash fictions. They get my fingers working and my creativity flowing.

Leave a Reply

