Check the facts–

Creativity is the bi-product of a self disciplined, well-informed mind–Anonymous

One of the most distracting things for me is to be reading a novel and suddenly read a passage that is factually incorrect.  Last night I wrote several paragraphs on my NaNo story.  During the night several questions about Corvettes went through my head, such as “Do they have spare tires?”  Any Corvette owner knows that I discovered that they don’t. 

To make a long story short, I will be rewriting several paragraphs.

The internet makes it easier to do research than it used to be, but it is important to be cautious about the sites that you use.   There is a lot of erroneous information out there.  I checked the web for an answer.  But I also decided that it would be just as easy and reliable to call my local Chevrolet dealer to get the answer, or at least to confirm that what I found on-line was correct for the year of the Corvette in my story.  It’s easy to be lazy about research these days, but don’t be afraid to expand your research beyond the web.  It may make the difference between finding the right answer and being misled.

Always check the facts.  Be vigilant about information in your writing that is outside of your area of knowledge. Remember that creativity requires that you have a well-informed mind, and what you learn along the way may inspire your next paragraph, or even your next story.

1 Comment

Filed under Thoughts on Writing..., writing

One response to “Check the facts–

  1. I absolutely adore your blog!

Leave a Reply

