No More New Year’s Resolutions

This year I am not making any New Year’s Resolutions.  Why would I do something that will soon take the joy out of my life, make me feel like a failure and increase my frustration?  I think we should demolish the idea of New Year’s Resolutions and instead start transforming ourselves in whatever way we desire—today–and by selecting changes one at a time.

For example:  For years I have had numerous kitchen items that I never use.  These include an electric mixer that was my mothers but isn’t old enough to be considered an antique yet.   I don’t need it.  I also have a salad shooter that doesn’t work smoothly, a hand mixer, that smells like it is going to burn down the house, and various TV sold gadgets that my mother collected. 

Instead of making a resolution to get rid of them next year, I decided to do it now.  A few days ago I resolved to work diligently at getting rid of all of this “junk” and transform my kitchen cabinets into organized storage units.    I will finish this project this afternoon and instead of feeling like a failure I feel good. 

My resolutions will  be more immediate in nature.  I will make them when I am ready to tackle them.  That way whether it’s December 31, 2011, or January 3, 2012, or December 31, 2012, I will feel good about myself.

3WW:  Demolish, Resolution, Transform.

4 Comments

Filed under HOME, This and That, Three World Wednesday, writing

4 responses to “No More New Year’s Resolutions

  1. Mary, I applaud the immediacy of your resolution, as well as the setting of a practical goal.
    So many of us make overarching resolutions that are not only doomed to fail, but end up making us feel worse than when we made the promise. I have no time for unearned guilt. My one resolution was fulfilled today: I submitted poetry to three different publishers! Even if all I receive are three “ding” letters, at least I know I did that work.

    Here’s to a productive, peaceful 2012 for all! Peace, Amy
    http://sharplittlepencil.wordpress.com/2011/12/30/fred-weintraub-will-never-rest-in-peace-or-otherwise/

    • Amy, I applaud you for your decision to submit your writing now. I wouldn’t be at all surprised if you got something better than a ding for your efforts. Best for the new year.

  2. I like the resolution to make immediate resolutions. I agree, if you want to change something change it now, not in the new year!

  3. I like the resolution to make immediate resolutions. I am with you all the way. If you want to change something, change it now, not in the new year!

Leave a Reply

