My Mother’s China Cabinet

It’s my house, but I call it Mother’s china cabinet because so many of the items in it once belonged to her. We built the cabinet on the North wall of the dining room.  In the evening, when the sun sets, the wood appears almost pink, but in the morning when the sun is bright the cabinet appears white.

My parents did not live a lavish life style, but my mother accumulated an abnormal amount of dishes during her life time and now many of them are mine.  China plates so white they appear translucent peek through the glass doors, matching cups dangle from hooks above the bowls and sauce dishes.  This is not Mother’s original set of gold-rimmed China.  The first set was run through her dishwasher until the gold rim washed away.  After we were grown she replaced them with this set.   This set does not go in the dishwasher.

Six paneled doors house the heirlooms hidden on the shelves below.  There is a set of 1940’s art deco wine glasses, slightly cloudy from years of use;  a Victorian spoon holder, its cherry color still bright; and the bowl we called the Jell-O bowl.  These are all reminders of another era.  During my childhood the china platters were filled with both turkey and ham at Christmas time.  We drank cranberry juice cocktail from the wine glasses and a concoction of whipped cream, fruit and Jell-O filled the almost square “Jell-O bowl.”

Today these dishes stay safely nestled on the shelves as if their only purpose is to be on display.  Perhaps I will get them out and use them this year on Christmas Day.

Three word Wednesday: dangle, lavish, abnormal.

4 Comments

Filed under HOME, This and That, Three World Wednesday

4 responses to “My Mother’s China Cabinet

  1. Well written job. Must be bookmarked:)

  2. Pingback: Sarah's Daily Note

  3. I know what you mean. I have lot of dishes my mother left me that are left in my cabinet on display.

Leave a Reply

